breaking news New

Mapinduzi Cup 2020: Mtibwa FC to face Chipukizi SC in kick-off

Tanzania Premier League side, Mtibwa Sugar FC will open the 2020 Mapinduzi Cup campaign with a Group B match against Chipukizi SC on January 6th.

The tournament organized under the government of Zanzibar through the Ministry of Youth, Arts and Culture will run January 5-13th in Unguja and Pemba.

“We hope to have a very competitive and successful competition,” said the General Secretary in the Ministry of Youth, Arts and Culture, Omar Hassan Kingi.

Azam FC who have won the trophy for the last three years (2017, 2018, 2019) will open their campaign on January 6th with a Group A game against Mlandege FC.

Tanzania giants Simba SC will take on Zanzibar’s Zimamoto SC in a Group B match on January th, while Yung Africans face Jamhuri SC in the second game.

The 2020 Mapinduzi Cup will attract eight teams with four coming from Tanzania mainland and four from Zanzibar. The organisers did not invite any foreign teams this year. In the past the organisers have invited foreign teams like KCCA FC and Uganda Revenue Authority.

The semi finals of the tournament will be played on January 8-9th, while the final takes place January 13th.

The 12-man committee that will run the 2020 Mapinduzi Cup includes; Sharifa Maulid (Chairman), Maalim Khamis Abdallah Said (Secretary), Khamis Mussa Omar, Issa Mlingoti, Seif Kombo Pandu, Mohamed Ali Hilali, Aiman Othman Duwe, Fatma Hamad Rajab, Salum Ubwa Ali Khalil, Juma Mmanga and Suleiman Pandu Kweleza.

Group A: Yanga, Azam, Mlandege, Jamhuri

Group B: Simba SC, Mtibwa, Chipukizi, Zimamoto


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password