breaking news New

New Committee to organise CECAFA tournaments

A new committee headed by the Deputy President of Football Kenya Federation (FKF), Doris Petra Atieno will be in-charge of organising tournaments in the Council of East and Central African Football Associations (CECAFA) region starting 2020.

The decision was reached on Tuesday in Hurghada, Egypt by the new CECAFA Executive Board headed by it’s President Wallace Karia, also President of the Tanzania Football Federation (TFF).

Nicholas Musonye, the Secretary General of CECAFA revealed that the Board had agreed that a 5-man committee made up of Vice Presidents from different Federations organize the tournaments in the region with the help of the Chief Executive Officer.

The the CECAFA Executive Board met on Tuesday at the sidelines of the 2019 CAF Awards that took place at the Albatros Citadel, Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada.

The Committee members who will be organising CECAFA competitions include; Doris Petra Atieno (Kenya), Aimable Habimana (Burundi), Bani Ahmed Eltatih (Sudan), Justus Mugisha (Uganda) and Djibouti’s Eunice Ali.

“Before the end of next month the new committee will be in place to start work and plan for the calender,” added Musonye.

The CECAFA region will stage nine tournaments in the 2020 season. The tournaments include; AFCON U-17 Zonal qualifier, CECAFA Women’s Senior Challenge Cup, AFCON U-20 Zonal qualifier, CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup, CECAFA U-20 Women’s Challenge Cup, CECAFA U-16 Boys Challenge Cup, CECAFA Kagame Club Championship, CECAFA U-20 Boys Challenge Cup CECAFA U-17 Women’s Challenge Cup.


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password