breaking news New

Mlandege Football Club crowned League champions

The 2019/2020 Zanzibar Premier League champions Mlandege Football Club were crowned on Saturday at the Mau Stadium in a colourful ceremony.

It was all celebrations when the trophy was officially handed over to the Mlandege FC team as the players, officials and fans celebrated.

Mlandege FC clinched the title last a week ago finishing with 68 points, one ahead of Zimamoto SC who finished second.

President of the Zanzibar Football Federation (ZFF), Seif Kombo Pandu attended the ceremony among other guests. The winners Mlandege FC received a cheque of Tanzania Shillings 10 million.

“We are happy that despite some challenges without a league sponsor and the Coronavirus also causing a stop in the League, we have finally completed it,” said Pandu.

Mlandege FC will represent Zanzibar in the lucrative CAF Champions League for the 2020/2021 season. In-case Mlandege FC register to take part in the Champions League, they will be entered in the preliminary stage.

The six teams that were relegated include; Chipukizi FC, Jamhuri FC, Mwenge FC, Selem View FC, Jang’ombe Boys FC and Machomane FC. Another six will join from the First Division League which concludes later this month.

Awards for the 2019/2020 Zanzibar Premier League

Champions: Mlandege FC

Best player: Ahmed Maulid Omar

Youngest best player: Masoud Rashid Juma (Mlandege)

Best goalkeeper: Ishaka Hakim (Mlandege FC)

Season’s youngest goalkeeper: Arif Ali Amour (Machomane Utd)

Top scorer: Ibrahim Hamad Ahmada

Best Referee: Said Salum Moh’d


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password