breaking news New

Mapinduzi Cup holders Mtibwa Sugar to open against Chipukizi in 2021 Edition

Cup holders Mtibwa Sugar FC will open their 2021 Mapinduzi Cup campaign against Chipukizi FC on January 5th at the Amaan Stadium in Zanzibar.

The 2021 Mapinduzi Cup which will attract nine teams from Zanzibar and Tanzania Mainland will run from January 5-13th.

Mapinduzi Cup is among the major activities carried out in Zanzibar to mark the 57th anniversary of Zanzibar Revolution.

According to the draws released by the organisers, the Vodacom Tanzania Premier League side Mtibwa will take to the field first in a Group B match, before Young Africans (Yanga) also battle Jamhuri FC in a Group A match the same day. Mtibwa Sugar will also battle against giants Simba SC in the same group.

Khamis Abdalla Said, the chairman of the Mapinduzi Cup organising Committee said they expect a very competitive competition.  

Reigning Zanzibar Premier League champions Mlandege FC who also represented the country in the Total CAF Champions League are pooled alongside Vodacom Tanzania Premier League side Azam FC and Malindi FC.

The group stage of the competition will end on January 10th before the semi-finals are played the next fay and the final on January 13th.

Group A: Yanga, Namungo, Jamhuri

Group B: Simba, Mtibwa, Chipukizi

Group C: Azam, Malindi, Mlandege


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password